Rosemary Turnips

From: me

Who says you can’t post twice in one day? This was my lunch a little while ago. It was the first time I’ve ever had turnips. And the verdict is: they aren’t the most amazing vegetables in the world, but they’re edible and I can have them this month and they don’t taste half bad. I could get used to them.

Inredients:

  • two turnips
  • a third of an onion, sliced in little strips
  • 1 tbsp. butter (oil works if you’re going dairy free, but butter is actually better for you)
  • a little salt
  • a little pepper
  • 1 tbsp. chopped fresh rosemary
  • two cloves of garlic

I’ve never cooked turnips before and never seen anybody else cook them, so I just did what randomly occurred to me. I rinsed them, poked them, and placed them in the oven at 350 for half an hour.

When they came out I let them cool for a minute until I could touch them, then I peeled them, which was kind of tricky. After that I sliced them up thinly and spread them out on a fry pan which I’d melted the butter in. I sliced the onions and scattered them on top, then seasoned it with salt and pepper.

Meanwhile, I retrieved some rosemary from my herb garden (it sounds fancy to have an herb garden, doesn’t it? Well, there’s nothing fancy about mine. Mine is small and overgrown and half dead right now and looks like a weed patch, and my rosemary plants were so puny and felt like I was stripping them bare). I rinsed my rosemary, chopped it up, and threw it in. I sauteed all of this until the turnips started turning brown and the onions were caramelized, then during the last few minutes I added some minced garlic (I’ve heard it burns and turns bitter if you sautee it too long).

When it was done I plated it and sprinkled a little bit of leftover rosemary on top for color.

Leave a Reply

