Veggie Fritata

From: me

Since dieting is a January tradition in this country, and since I had a yeast infection (again) last month, I am undergoing a yeast cleanse diet this month (YCD is my abbreviation for it in my recipe categories). Generally it’s not a fun thing, and I dislike the weight loss associated with it. But right now I’m just having fun scrounging up new recipes for things I can eat which actually taste yummy! I do love a good challenge.

This fritata was my dinner last night. I was so famished from four days of meager meals that I… ate the whole thing. *blush* (Hey, most of the bulk of that is broccoli!)

Ingredients:

  • 1 small head of broccoli (the kind that comes on a stalk and is about half to a third of the size of a regular broccoli head in a package)
  • 1 diced tomato
  • four slices of bacon, crumbled
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 tsp. Herbie’s seasoning with celtic sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • freshly ground black pepper

I rinsed the broccoli then boiled it for five minutes, strained it, and submerged it in cold water so it would keep it’s color. Then I strained it again and spread it out on a well-greased pie pan. Next I diced a tomato and scattered that on top. Finally I sprinkled on a crumbled bacon.

Then I cracked my five eggs into a small mixing bowl and beat them with an electric mixer. I added my seasonings and beat them some more, then I poured them on top of my vegetables in the pie pan. The veggies stuck out above the eggs, but I knew the eggs would rise and I figured it would make everything look prettier with lots of veggies poking through. I was right.

I put the pie pan in a 375 degree oven for 20 minutes, then checked it and added a few more minutes. And that’s it, ladies and gents.

One thought on “Veggie Fritata

  1. mmmm! and I don’t think it’s such a terrible thing to eat the whole pan-full. It’s all yummy healthy things!

    I think we need to cook up some concoctions together when you come visit. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

