Snowflake Millet

Recipe from: me

When my friend Bek took me to a tea house for my birthday last year, I bought some special tea that I’d tried and mailed it to my sister. She still has half a bag, and we savor it. The name of it is “Snowflake tea”, and it is flavored with coconut, almond, and cinnamon. With that as my inspiration, I created this recipe for warm breakfast cereal, which, serendipitously, is also perfectly acceptable for me to have when I’m trying to cleanse my body of yeast. The coconut flakes give this a nice texture, and the almonds add a delectable crunch. Yum.

Ingredients (rough estimate–I don’t measure things):

  • 1 cup millet
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup coconut milk
  • 1/2 tsp. almond extract
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • stevia to taste (can use any other sweetener you like)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened, shredded coconut
  • 1/3 cup almond slivers
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon

Directions:

Put the millet in a sauce pan with 1 1/2 cups water and simmer until the water evaporates and the millet is tender. Add coconut milk, stevia, almond extract, and vanilla extract, and simmer until the desired consistency is reached. Meanwhile, toast the almond slivers in a small frying pan until light brown. Add the almond slivers, shredded coconut, and cinnamon and stir until combined. Sprinkle with a light dusting of cinnamon and serve.

Idea for next time: coconut extract, for extra coconut flavor.

Leave a Reply

