Leek and Potato Quiche

I’m breaking my own rule by not posting a photo, but I don’t want to write out the recipe by hand only to misplace it. So, I intend to rectify the situation next time I make this and squeeze the photo in here. In the meantime, here’s the recipe.

Note: The milk and cheese can be omitted to produce a dairy-free quiche, which would still be tasty.

Recipe from: me

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium potatoes, scrubbed and rinsed
  • 1 leek, sliced, rinsed, and strained
  • 1 tsp. butter
  • 1-2 cloves garlic
  • 1/4 tsp. terragon
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 c. parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 c. milk
  • 6 eggs

Directions:

Thinly slice the unpeeled potatoes using a mandolin. Lightly salt the potatoes and the leeks and saute briefly in a cast iron skillet in a tsp. of butter. Mince the garlic and stir it in, allowing to cook for an additional minute. The potatoes should be just a tiny bit firm (ere on the side of caution–it’s better to overcook them than undercook them). Remove from heat.

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

In a medium mixing bowl, add the tarrgon, salt, pepper, and parmesan. Stir briefly. Add the eggs and milk, then lightly beat until the whites and yolks are fully combined. Pour on top of the potatoes and leeks. Bake for 30 minutes or until golden brown.

2 thoughts on “Leek and Potato Quiche

  1. I think leeks are fabulous. It’s been awhile since I made a quiche since I am dairy free about 80% of the time. I’m thinking that if I used a dairy free milk, I might want to add a bit more butter (thankfully, I tolerate butter and cheese just fine).

Leave a Reply

