Finding a Bread for Me

I keep walking this tight rope of trying to eat enough carbs to give me the fuel I need to burn throughout the day and avoiding enough carbs that this yeast imbalance I have doesn’t go completely berzerk. One thing I really miss in my diet is bread! The gluten-free breads on the market all have too much rice flour and tapioca starch and cane sugar, but the bread recipes I’ve found that don’t have those ingredients are all protein-packed no-carb paleo breads. I want something in between, so I’ve decided I have to make my own!

bread1

This is what I did for my first attempt.

  • 1 cup millet flour     remove because I don’t think it’s coarse and grainy texture digests well
  • 1 cup oat flour     add in additional cup to replace millet
  • 1 cup garbanzo bean flour
  • 1/4 cup almond meal
  • 2 tbsp arrowroot
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup golden flaxseeds, soaked in 1 cup of water for an hour
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 2 tbsp olive oil     add 1/4 cup instead
  • 1 tbsp vinegar
  • 1 1/4 cups water     only add 1 cup… dough was too moist and took an extra long time to bake
  • 2 tbsp sunflower seeds
  • 2 tbsp sesame seeds
  • 1 tbsp poppyseeds
  • add 3-4 beaten egg whites (maybe cream or tartar, too?) to hopefully hold bread together more and make it less crumbly, and also give it a lighter, airier texture

Preheat oven to 350.

Combine all the dry ingredients except the seeds. Place the soaked flaxseeds, the oil, vinegar and honey in the blender. Blend until smooth and gooey/fluffy. Add the wet mixture plus the additional cup of water to the dry mixture until combined. Fold in the fluffy egg whites. Pour the mixture into a parchment paper-lined loaf pan. Sprinkle seeds on top.

Bake for 1 hours or until a skewer inserted comes out clean.

My first results were that the bread looked beautiful and had a pleasant flavor when warm, but it was as crumbly as cornbread and not very practical for making sandwiches! I also ended up with digestive issues from it. I’m going to omit the millet and see if that was the culprit. If not, other potential suspects are the garbanzo flour (but I’ve eaten that in gingerbread cookies and didn’t have a problem), the arrowroot which is new to me, or the flaxseeds if perhaps they weren’t fresh or maybe didn’t soak long enough.

Leave a Reply

